XII. THE SENATE

1. Membership

- 1.1 The Senate shall comprise the following:
 - (a) The Vice-Chancellor (Chair)
 - (b) Any Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Pro Vice-Chancellors
 - (c) All Heads of Colleges
 - (d) All Heads of Schools
 - (e) All Heads of Interdisciplinary institutes approved for this purpose
 - (f) One representative of each academic School, to be appointed by each School
 - (g) Five student representatives, appointed by the Students' Union
 - (h) Up to five individuals who are co-opted members and approved by the Senate
 - (i) Up to ten independent academic members
- 1.2. The Secretary to the Senate shall be the University Secretary or his/her nominee. Other officers may attend Senate meetings in an advisory capacity or as observers.
- 1.3 Other individuals may attend Senate meetings on the invitation of the Chair.

1.4 The Independent Academic Members of the Senate shall be appointed in the following manner:

- (i) When a vacancy in the independent academic representation is about to occur, the University Secretary or his/her nominee shall inform all members of the Academic Staff currently in post of the fact and shall call for nominations.
- Each nomination sent to the University Secretary shall be signed by a proposer and seconder and shall be accompanied by a statement by or on behalf of the candidate of willingness to serve.
- (iii) If more than ten nominations are received, the University Secretary shall arrange for a ballot of all those invited to submit nominations and the vacancy shall be filled by the candidates receiving the largest number of votes. The manner of the election, save as here provided, shall be in the discretion of the University Secretary.
- (iv) The result of the election shall be published by the University Secretary.
- (v) Any casual vacancy arising shall be filled as it arises by a procedure similar to that specified above. Any person appointed to fill a casual vacancy shall serve for the remaining period of the vacancy arising.
- (vi) The period of office shall be three years beginning on the first day of August following election and representatives are eligible for re-election upon the expiry of one term.
- 2. The Senate shall normally meet on four occasions each academic year.

- 3. The Senate is the academic authority of the University and is the ruling body on matters which require academic judgement. Examples of such matters are:
 - Regulations relating to degree programmes and students
 - Student assessment, progression and appeals
 - Student registration or the termination of studies
 - Student discipline
 - The award of prizes, scholarships etc.
 - The length and structure of the academic year
 - Timetabling issues
 - Individual student cases.
- 4. The Senate may also engage in discussion of strategic matters affecting the academic domain.

Amended June 2018